ENVISION certification is a tool that enables infrastructure projects of different types, sizes, complexity and locations to achieve a high level of sustainability at all stages of project design and construction. Within the scope of the certificate, in addition to the environmental and social benefits of the project throughout its life cycle, cost targets can also be evaluated.

ENVISION certification has 60 sustainability criteria divided into five categories:

  • Quality of Life,
  • Leadership,
  • Resource Allocation,
  • Natural World
  • Climate & Resilience

Sustainability ratings for infrastructure projects are established through a performance evaluation that scores up to five levels for each credit. Additional points can be earned for innovative performance in each category.

To be able to issue this certificate, which is given by the “Institute for Sustainable Infrastructure (ISI)”, a non-profit voluntary organization, it is necessary to be approved by ISI as Envision Sustainability Professional (ENV SP). In order to become an Envision SP, after taking the trainings given by ISI, it is necessary to pass an exam conducted by ISI.

Envision certification responds to the need for a holistic rating system for sustainable infrastructure design.

  • Reducing negative impacts on humans and the environment,
  • Saving by increasing efficiency,
  • Increased participation and confidence in the decision-making processes of the public,
  • Long-term viability with increased flexibility and readiness.

Uses proven, best-practice approaches to achieve sustainable, resilient, and equitable infrastructure. Examples include the following: mitigation hierarchy, triple-bottom-line considerations, innovation, higher performance in three dimensions, and lifecycle considerations.

Envision employs a Mitigation Hierarchy that prioritizes the steps needed when building civil infrastructure. 

  • Avoidance — Measures are taken from the outset to avoid creating negative impacts.
  • Minimization — Measures are taken to reduce the duration, intensity or extent of impacts that cannot be avoided.
  • Abatement — Measures are taken to rehabilitate degraded ecosystems.
  • Offsetting — Measures are taken to compensate for any residual adverse impacts.

Energy   Water    Waste
Geothermal Plants   Potable Water Distribution   Solid Waste Facilities
Hydroelectric Power Plants   Treatment Plants   Recycling Facilities 
Nuclear Power Plants   Storage Centers   Collection and Transfer
Refineries   Flood Control Structures   Hazardous Waste
Wind   Storm Water Management        
Solar   Nutrient Management        
Biofuel Power Plants                
Transport   Landscape   Information
Airports   Public Realm   Telecom
Roads/ Highway   Parks/ Campgrounds   İnternet/ Broadband
Bridges   Ecosystem Services    Phones
Public Transit   Natural/ Green Infrastructure   Data Centers
Ports/ Waterways   Environmental Restoration   Sensors
Active Transportation           Cables
string(2) "36"